4coder»Forums
6 posts
Beginner C user, please help with customization
Edited by Bouke285 on
Hi,

My background is in C# and higher level languages. I'm very interested in getting familiar with building my code outside of visual studio. I want to start messing around with making some customizations in 4coder. Could someone point me to a location that goes over the process for someone entirely new? How to create customizations from ground 0 in 4coder (at least how to get the file building).

I have the buildsuper.bat compiling cpp files, but let's say I create an empty cpp file to hold my customization, what do I need to include to make it build and use the 4coder API? Thanks!

I've been trying to settle on an editor to learn, so I want to get my feet wet with 4coder as I gain more experience with C/C++

*EDIT
1) I found the "4coder_default_include", but the build bat has the WX flag set for compilation; I'm getting a few warnings in the default_framework.h file, is it safe to remove the WX flag so my file can build? Or is there a better way to handle this?

2) I'm also getting this linking error "LINK : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol get_bindings
custom_4coder.lib : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals'"
Simon Anciaux
1337 posts
Have a look at 4coder_default_bindings.cpp, it's the file that gets compiled by default for the custom layer. I suggest you to make a copy of that file to do your custom layer to avoid overwriting it when you update to a new version.

You can compile your file using buildsuper.bat by passing its name as the first argument in a terminal.
buildsuper.bat custom_layer.cpp

You can create a new command (function) like this:
CUSTOM_COMMAND_SIG( command_name_here ) {
    // command code here.
}

CUSTOM_COMMAND_SIG( other_command_name_here ) {
    // command code here.
}

void default_keys(Bind_Helper *context){

begin_map(context, mapid_global);
    bind(context, 'a', MDFR_CTRL, command_name_here);
    end_map(context);