4coder»Forums
Barret Gaylor
31 posts
I am a game designer who recently became interested in coding in a handmade way. I am not that experienced, but I want to learn.
Correct indents in python files
Edited by Barret Gaylor on Reason: Initial post
I'm trying to create a python mode for 4coder. I have already made the 4coder_language_py.h file, but now I just need to make 4coder do the line indentation correctly. I'm guessing this might have something to do with 4coder_auto_indent.cpp or 4coder_default_hooks.cpp, but I'm not fimilar enough with the customization layer to know for sure. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.
Barret Gaylor
31 posts
I am a game designer who recently became interested in coding in a handmade way. I am not that experienced, but I want to learn.
Ok, I think I figured it out.

here's the code I created:
https://github.com/Barret5Ocal/4coderPython

first I added the code for the parse context.

if(match(ext, "py")){
                    if(parse_context_language_py == 0){
                        init_language_py(app);
                    }
                    parse_context_id = parse_context_language_py;
                    python_yes = true;
                }     

I added the python_yes variable for the next bit of code.

if(python_yes)
  // NOTE(allen): Decide buffer settings
    bool32 use_virtual_whitespace = false;
    bool32 use_lexer = false;
    bool32 wrap_lines = true;
    if (treat_as_todo){
        lex_without_strings = true;
        wrap_lines = true;
        use_virtual_whitespace = true;
        use_lexer = true;
    }
    else if (treat_as_code){
        wrap_lines = global_config.enable_code_wrapping;
        use_virtual_whitespace = global_config.enable_virtual_whitespace;
        use_lexer = true;
    }
    if (match(make_string(buffer.buffer_name, buffer.buffer_name_len), "*compilation*")){
        wrap_lines = false;
    }
    if(python_yes)
    {
        use_virtual_whitespace = false;
        wrap_lines = false;
    }