4coder»Forums
John
46 posts
Expand panel toggle
Edited by John on Reason: Initial post
I just recently purchased 4coder and trying to dive into the customization layer. I'm also a beginner in C++ so bear with me!

I always use 2 panels side-by-side and have code wrapping enabled. I'd like to disable wrapping and have a toggle-binding that "expands" the active panel, and then restores the split panels with their buffers if it is pressed a second time.
I came up with the following command which does what I want. The only problem is I'm not aware of way to tell if the active panel is at the left or right of the other panel. I currently have it set up to always open a new panel to the right.

CUSTOM_COMMAND_SIG(toggle_expand_active_panel)
{
    static bool expanded = false;
    int access = AccessAll;
    View_Summary view = get_active_view(app,access);
    static int32_t buffer_id;

if (!expanded)
    {
	    change_active_panel(app);
		view = get_active_view(app,access);
	    buffer_id = view.buffer_id;
	    close_view(app, &view);
	}
	else
	{
		View_Summary newview = open_view(app, &view, ViewSplit_Right);
		change_active_panel(app);
		view_set_buffer(app, &newview, buffer_id, 0);
	}

expanded = !expanded;
}

So what I'm looking for is a way to pass ViewSplit_Right/ViewSplit_Left to the open_view() function, depending on which panel has been previously expanded.
Simon Anciaux
1341 posts
Expand panel toggle
Edited by Simon Anciaux on Reason: typo
I don't know if there is a way to know which view is which by default.

One way you could achieve this would be to mark the view yourself when they are created using a view managed scope, managed_variable_create, managed_variable_set and managed_variable_get.

I never used managed scope and variables so I can't really help you further but there are 3 blog posts on the subject:
Memory management overview
Memory management variables and objects
Memory management scopes.