Register
4coder»Forums»Is Metal on MacOS a requirement?
5 posts
Is Metal on MacOS a requirement?
8 months, 2 weeks ago Edited by max++ on Feb. 11, 2020, 8:14 a.m.
Just bought 4.1.3, trying to launch and got a bunch of messages in console:
[CAMetalLayer nextDrawable] returning nil because device is nil.

The app is responsive but it doesn't do anything. No drawing, just black screen, hotkeys do nothing. Haven't tried to rebuild since I'm new to file structure.

4.0.30 works fine. So my guess is it tries to use Metal which is not supported on my GPU:
Chipset Model: Intel HD Graphics 3000
Type: GPU
Bus: Built-In
VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 512 MB
Vendor: Intel

I got an old MacBook pro 2011 and I'm happy with it, don't plan to upgrade any time soon. That also means I can't upgrade to anything later than MacOS 10.13.6.

Couldn't find anything on forums. Is it configurable, can I pick OpenGL, or am I wrong with my guess?
Steve
19 posts

Code Monkey

8 months, 2 weeks ago
OpenGL has been deprecated as of Mojave (10.14), though is still available, so Metal is a future OS requirement.
It's possible they only built for Metal, and not OpenGL, due to this eventual future?

I'm curious if they support running on OpenGL for Linux, and could maybe drop-in support for macOS without a lot of work?

I see 0xdeadc0de everywhere
5 posts
2 weeks, 2 days ago Edited by max++ on Oct. 12, 2020, 6:37 p.m.
I'll bump this. Can anyone who has a license for original source confirm that? Is Metal mandatory now? That turns 4coder unusable for me on MacOS
Simon Anciaux
900 posts
2 weeks, 1 day ago
You might get a faster answer by asking Allen on twitter or on the 4coder discord server.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2145 posts / 1 project
2 weeks, 1 day ago Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on Oct. 14, 2020, 2:10 a.m.